Hugo B. Fischer Awards

Hugo B. Fischer Award

image004   image002

The Hugo B. Fischer Award, which is made in honor of the late Professor Hugo B. Fischer’s pioneering work on San Francisco Bay-Delta water quality modeling, is given annually for (1) the development, refinement or innovative application of a computer model or (2) furtherance of the effective use of models in planning or regulatory functions. The award was conceived and endowed in 1995 by Lyle Hoag, retired Executive Director of California Urban Water Agencies, and co-founder of the Bay-Delta Modeling Forum, the predecessor to the CWEMF.

Hugo B. Fischer was born in Lakehurst, New Jersey in 1937 and earned his B.S. degree in 1958, his M.S. in 1963, and his Ph.D. in 1966, all from the California Institute of Technology. He was a professor of civil engineering at the University of California, Berkeley from 1966 until his death in 1983. Dr. Fischer was a recognized authority in salt-water intrusion, water pollution, heat dispersion in waterways, and the mixing of rivers and oceans. A list of his research papers can be found in the University of California’s On-line Water Resources Center Archives.

The Hugo B. Fischer award is presented each winter at the CWEMF’s Annual Meeting.

Year Hugo B. Fischer Award Winners
2016 Dr. Eli Ateljevich – CA Dept. of Water Resources
HBF Award Presentation
Recipient’s Presentation – Water Cost Tool and Bay-Delta SCHISM: Towards Fidelity in Planning Questions and Answers (.pdf)
2015 Mike Deas – Watercourse Engineering HBF Award Presentation Recipient’s Presentation – “Water Temperature Transaction Tool (W3T) (.pdf)
2014 Dan Easton – MBK Engineers HBF Award Presentation Recipient’s Acceptance Speech (.pdf)
2013 Dr. Nigel Quinn – Berkeley National Laboratory, U.S. Bureau of Reclamation HBF Award Presentation  Recipient’s Presentation – “The Power of Data (.pdf)
2012 Nancy Parker – U.S. Bureau of Reclamation HBF Award Presentation Recipient’s Presentation – “Planning Modeling for USBR Mid Pacific Region”   (.pdf)
2011 Dr. Russ Brown – ICF
Recipient’s Presentation – “Thirty Years of Daily Modeling”   (.pdf)
2010 <No Award Given>
2009 Dr. Pete Smith – U.S. Geological Survey   HBF Award Presentation Award Recipient’s Presentation – Using 3D Hydrodynamic and Particle-Tracking Models to Explore Fish Movements and Distributions   (.pdf)
2008 Dr. Richard Howitt – UC Davis
Dr. Jay R. Lund – UC Davis   HBF Award Presentation
Award Recipient’s PresentationAdventures with CALVIN (.pdf)
2007 Dr. John DeGeorge – Resources Management Associates
HBF Award Presentation (.pdf)
2006 Dr. Carl Chen – Systech Engineering, Inc        HBF Award Presentation
Dr. Paul Hutton – Metropolitan Water District of So. CA
2005 <No Award Given>
2004 Tom Heinzer – U.S. Bureau of Reclamation
2003 Dr. Emin C. Dogrul – CA Dept. of Water Resources
2002 Dr. Gerald Orlob–University of California, Davis
2001 Armin Munevar – CA Dept. of Water Resources
2000 Kamyar Guivetchi – CA Dept. of Water Resources
Dwight Russell – CA Dept. of Water Resources
1999 Walter Bourez III –Surface Water Resources, Inc.
Jack Rowell – U.S. Bureau of Reclamation
1998 <No award given>
1997 Dr. Francis Chung – CA Dept. of Water Resources
Dr. Gregory Gartrell –Contra Costa Water District
1996 Dr. Ralph Cheng – U.S. Geological Survey
1995 Dr. Richard Denton – Contra Costa Water District
Dr. Alan Jassby – UC Davis

Hugo B Fischer and graduate students from his Mixing Processes class visiting the Sandmound Slough tide gates in the Delta. May 1982.
Photo courtesy of Richard Denton